MeRID LogoMaine RID is an affiliate state chapter of the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc (RID). We are a membership driven, non-profit organization that functions in accordance with the goals of RID Inc. The state of Maine enjoys a vibrant and diverse interpreting community.

Our purpose is to:

  • Advance professional and ethical standards for interpreters
  • Provide and sponsor professional development opportunities for the enhancement of interpreting skills
  • Promote the rights of interpreters, clients, and consumers
  • Educate the public on the provision of interpreter services and on the ethical standards of the profession
  • Practice and uphold the Code of Professional Conduct established by RID & NAD, Inc.

Maine RID Bylaws

 

Maine RID Board 2017-2018

President
Meryl Troop– president@mainerid.org

Vice President
Deb Myers– vicepresident@mainerid.org

Recording Secretary
Timothy Doyle– recording@mainerid.org

Membership Secretary
Zachary Hardy– membership@mainerid.org

Treasurer
Carol Garland– treasurer@mainerid.org

July 1, 2017-June 30, 2019

Deaf Member at Large
Darleen Hutchins – deafmemberatlarge@mainerid.org

Educational Rep
Shannon Locke- educational@mainerid.org

Legal Rep
Margaret Haberman – legal@mainerid.org

Medical Rep
Polly Lawson – medical@mainerid.org

Northern Regions Rep
northern@mainerid.org

Southern Regions Rep
Tammy DeHetre- southern@mainerid.org

July 1, 2016- June 30, 2018

Student Rep
Rikki Demoranville– student@mainerid.org

July 1, 2017- June 30, 2018